A. Barry Hirschfeld Sr.

2015 Community Enrichment Award

The Mizel Institute honored A. Barry Hirschfeld Sr. with the 2015 Community Enrichment Award at its 25th annual dinner gala Wednesday, May 20 at Wings Over the Rockies Air & Space Museum. Mr. Hirschfeld was selected due to his long history of humanitarianism, civic engagement and commitment to the improvement not only of Denver, but of Colorado as a whole. His illustrious 45-year career in the Denver business community includes diverse leadership roles in the fields of commercial printing, entrepreneurial investments and real estate. A founding board member of the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), Mr. Hirschfeld stands at the forefront of civic engagement, serving on numerous boards and in countless volunteer efforts throughout the state. In honor of this extraordinary career, he was elected to the Colorado Business Hall of Fame in 2004.

About the Mizel Institute Annual Dinner

The Mizel Institute Annual Dinner, one of the largest community fundraisers in Colorado, draws guests in the thousands, who represent a wide array of community leaders in government, business, education and philanthropy. Funds raised from the Mizel Institute Annual Dinner support its two centers: the Mizel Museum and the Counterterrorism Education Learning Lab (CELL), whose valuable programs empower individuals to become civically engaged in promoting social justice and enhancing public safety.

About the Community Enrichment Award

Each year, the Mizel Institute presents the Community Enrichment Award to a deserving individual who has made outstanding contributions to the community and worked to significantly enhance the lives of others. When selecting an honoree, the institute takes into consideration an individual’s level of philanthropic support, impact on a cross-section of the community, and demonstrated commitment to the ideals of both the Mizel Museum and the CELL.


2017 John Elway

2016 Mayor Michael B. Hancock

2015 A. Barry Hirschfeld

2014 William J. Hybl

2013 Pat Bowlen

2012 Glenn R. Jones

2011 Sharon Magness Blake

2010 Anna and John J. Sie

2009 Dean Singleton

2008 Norman Brownstein

2007 Mayor John Hickenlooper

2006 Ray Baker

2005 Cortlandt Dietler

2003 Governor William and First Lady Frances Owens

2002 Peter H. Coors

2001 Arlene Hirschfeld

2000 Charles P. Gallagher

1999 Donald Kortz

1998 Governor Roy Romer

1997 Cindy and Steve Farber

1996 Chancellor Daniel Ritchie

1995 Cardinal J. Francis Stafford

1994 Ed and Dick Robinson

1993 Rabbi Daniel Goldberger

1992 Miriam Goldberg

1991 Robyn and Robert Loup

1990 Suzy and Jack Grazi